I graduated with a university degree...but I have an interest in pursuing my own business
for guitar teaching and whatnot. Anyone try it? Any experiences or input how you balance work/guitar?
The largest regular income I had from music was late spring last year.
I was in two covers bands and teaching two regular students and a few one off students.

I'd make £40-£60 per gig (pretty much one every Saturday, if not Friday and Saturday) and I'd get roughly £15 from teaching in the week. (I didn't treat it as money to live off and had no degrees or anything so I only charged my students £5 an hour).

But. As I said I wasn't treating this like I was living off of it. One of the covers bands I was in was just because they needed a bassist, I happened to be quick at learning sets, plus my other band's drummer was on drums for a while. My other band was only a cover band because of our singer, she's now left and we're looking for a singer for originals.
Plus my student base was very small and I was under-charging them by quite a lot.

Just a very rough idea on some numbers from someone who was doing it reasonably casually!
If your good at guitar and like teaching, and you live in an area that has a need for a guitar teacher you can do very well.

Around here I see one on one lessons for 15 dollars per half hour and that's considered a good price.

So if you get enough students that's 30 dollars an hour playing guitar. say you manage to get 80 kids for 40 hours a week that's 1200 a week or 62,400 a year.
sigh...
That's what I'm planning on doing. It's unrealistic and gunna be hard, but that's my aim in life. To live comfortably from music.
My guitar teacher is amazing, and he charges 12$ per half-hour lesson. I think it's crazy, but anyhow, I plan to follow in his footsteps. When he retires, or if he moves or whatever, I'll try to get in the business and get his old students.
Me
You gotta constantly be searching for work unless you have an awesome manager