Well, I've come here for help. I've been playing guitar for a few years now, and I've taken lessons for maybe one of those years (the first.) Therefore I'm versed in correct posture/hand positions etc, however lessons never really taught me much beyond that. I've gotten to the point where I can play most things if given a tab and some time to learn it. It takes me a little while, but I can imitate some very advanced guitarists.

My problem is: I know hardly anything to do with theory. I know the basics of forming chord progressions (based on I II III, etc), and how basic scales are formed, but hardly anything beyond that. This means that I can't really improvise, write my own music(beyond simple chord strums), or jam.

My question is: How do I improve and become my own guitarist, and not just one that can imitate songs?

tl;dr: I can play songs if you give them to me, but I want to be able to be better than that, what do I do?
well it seems you found your problems already tyr studying musis theory a bit that really helped me

also when your playing try playing something you know you cant play try doing that eveyr day

oh and listen to your self playnot just hear but listen to how your notes sound and how they work toghether
Yeah, I guess my question was asking for resources, like ways/sites to learn some more theory that would be helpful, and what theory stuff i should place under the highest priority.
Quote by qaz923
Yeah, I guess my question was asking for resources, like ways/sites to learn some more theory that would be helpful, and what theory stuff i should place under the highest priority.

oh in that case go to musictheory.net it will teach you all the basics you need to know and then you can read the articles "the crusades" by colohue here they have alot of information to keep you busy for awhile
Hi, i know what you are going through.

A plateau can happen because some reasons like :