I mainly play in Standard and DADGAD and I was wondering if I kept changing between them would it make the string snap?
I only have a single guitar so separate guitars isn't an option.
Would it be better to leave it in one tuning for a day before switching back to reduce the likelihood of snapping or am I in a lost cause situation here ?
im no expert but i cant see why. if you were tuning up higher than normal than maybe? but just going down and back doesnt seem like it should be a problem to me. if you start breaking strings all the time or something then youd want to figure out whats behind it but theyre pretty resilient and stretch over time and all that jazz. should be fine here
i should be fine imo, i'm also often changing between Eb and open G on my strat and the strings last as long as on my other guitar which is always in E (meaning up to couple of months w/ my strings and playstyle).
Quote by KorYi
i should be fine imo, i'm also often changing between Eb and open G on my strat and the strings last as long as on my other guitar which is always in E (meaning up to couple of months w/ my strings and playstyle).

how often do you go back and forth?

and thanks for the responses guys!
well that depends...

if i'm at home and have all my guitars at hand, maybe 1x-2x a week (sometimes not even that)

if i ain't home and have only my strat w/ me, then it's more like 1x-2x a day
aaaaah i still have string phobia T_T the tension in the high E and b string is scary i feel like its going to snap if i tune it back up
i wouldn't worry about it ^^ anyway, you'll get used to it after a while. Also I've never snapped a string during tuning, always during playing. As said before, unless you tune above standart tuning, you will be fine.
as long as you don't tune a string much higher, you should be fine. i tune down to open D and DADGAD and then back to standard all the time with no problems.
Quote by Skeet UK