I've been playing for about 2 years and no matter how slow I progress through a song or how hard I try to play cleanly, I always fumble somewhere and mess up. I use guitar pro and I start learning solos at about 50% and increase speed when I'm comfortable but still can't manage to play cleanly at full speed.

I also have been trying to work with a metronome but that doesn't seem to help either. What's the secret?!? I have a feeling the answer is practice.
im a n00b!
don't practice, you'll get better over time if you really want it.

loljk practice more
Quote by Kevätuhri
Hail isn't too edgy for posts, posts are not edgy enough for Hail.

Quote by UseYourThumb
You win. I'm done here.
I've heard keeping a hair band (like a rubber band) on the first fret if your playing solos works. I've tried it but the band was too stretched. if you don't understand what I'm talking about (cuz I tend to **** sentences up a lot), heres a vid:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XRMUBNRM18E
He also has some other tips on how to play cleaner so yeah.
It takes a while to get used to practicing with a metronome. One trick is to actually leave it running while you go and do other things around the house - because the first thing people find out about metronomes is how irritating they are when you try to play with them. This way, you kind of programme yourself to accept it plus the speed at which you set it also works in your favour and you'll find out why for yourself on that one.