Hello im pretty new guitarist(a year under my belt now) and I recently started learning leads. I still cant really make a sweep sound right so usually I use a combination of economy picking and alternate picking to compensate(sorta), but im still working on it. I can play the simpler metallica solos IE Am I evil intro solo(I actually learned that one in my first 3 months playing), Master of puppets first solo and the first half of the second, Fade to black first solo, All solos in For whom the bell tolls, first bit to Peace Sells second solo. Now certain solos just seem to click with me and I feel over the last few weeks ive learned these solos Ive really progressed as a lead player. My leads have become way cleaner. I would love to have some lead suggestions that would be in my ball park or push me a little. I am into metal and rock, anything from The Eagles to Autopsy. Thank you for your suggestions. Cheers
I think before you go any further with lead playing, you need to get a solid grasp on vibrato. It's the one thing that every single lead player needs, and if they don't have it, it will sound shit. Now, most people think vibrato is a natural thing. It's not. Just like any other thing it needs practice. Your vibrato needs to be even, strong and to the right pitch. Another thing to think about is, think about where you're bending to when you vibrato. If, for example, you're using E minor pentatonic, and you're playing a G note, using a semitone vibrato is going to sound off-key, because G# is not in the E minor pentatonic. So you would need to bend to the next note (A) instead.
Quote by Cathbard
You don't need epic tone in the bedroom any more than you need mood lighting to masturbate.

The three most important aspects of lead playing are

1. Vibrato

2. Bends

3. Vibrato added to bends

Nothing worse than hearing a guy alternate pick a 4 string 16th note pattern at 170bpm only to land on a note and execute a shitty vibrato or band.