I started taking voice lessons recently, I've always wanted to be a good singer. I've been playing guitar for a decent amount of time, and some other instruments. I'm okay with where I'm at guitar-wise, but I'm looking to become at least a competent singer. I'm a total beginner now. I've tried to learn through websites, but it's really difficult.

Anyways, I'm concerned I may have chosen the wrong teacher. I get along with him well, he seems pretty musically knowledgable. He teaches at the local music store. But I feel like this week was a waste, and nothing will get accomplished. I've been taking lessons for 2 weeks. Here's how it went:

Week 1: Introduce each other, we sing along together to some songs I picked, he says to do the lip roll exercise.

So, that's a typical first week lesson anywhere. We didn't really accomplish much, I figure he wanted to see where I'm at vocally. So we sang a couple John Frusciante songs (I'm a big fan of his). He talked about how JF switches between voice registers. And then we started to work through Hazey Jane I by Nick Drake, but ran out of time. He was figuring it out on piano, chords, melody, etc, but we didn't sing it.

One thing that worried me is I felt time was being wasted by him figuring out the songs on the piano (didn't take too long, but still 30 mins isn't that long, so I want to get as much done as possible)

So my assignment for that week was to do the lip roll exercise, and sing along to the Frusciante song (the parts I was comfortable to sing, not the real high notes he does). So I did this. My worry is we didn't really discuss proper technique, like breathe through the diaphragm, resonance, tension, etc. We just sang along to the song, I feel like we should have talked about technique more.

Week 2 went like this: