One of the guys in another band around here is selling his marshall cabs. I'm using a 6505+ combo, and for now I'd like to run the internal speaker with one cab(if possible) but sooner or later would like to know how to convert it into a head(any construction info?) but anyways. One cab is marshall made in 1977(??)with 2 vintage 30's and 2 G12H30's installed; the other is a marshall 1960ax cab with greenbacks. I can get either for $500 bucks. I'm wondering 1) how they would sound with my 6505+, and which one I should buy 2)How the ohms would work, and if I could use the internal speaker too(I'm a noob, so explain in detail how to match ohms and such), 3)Right now I'm having the problem of not projecting enough. I hear the other guitarist with a peavey windsor head and a 4x12 better than I hear myself. Will this help with this? Because there's more speakers instead of one going in one directon? I need to know because we're playing gigs more frequently. Thanks.
Quote by xX.Homesick.Xx
but sooner or later would like to know how to convert it into a head(any construction info?)

You cut the top part of the amp off. And don't saw through the tubes.

Or you can take measurements, build a custom box for the internals, and put them in the new box. Seems easier to me, fancier, and will result in a much nicer head.
you can clip the speaker wires connecting the amp to the speaker, then solder the cables to a 1/4 jack. Then just plug in a speaker cable and you are all set. I did this to a cheap combo and it worked, but i would sell off the combo and just get the peavey 6505+ head. I've played both, and wasn't impressed with the combo but love the head. Plus, I wouldn't want to risk damaging the amp if you don't do it right.
$300 tops. 1960s are practically worthless unless they're pre '71.
E-peen:
Rhodes Gemini
Fryette Ultra Lead
Peavey 6505
THD Flexi 50

Gibson R0 Prototype
EBMM JP13 Rosewood
Fender CS Mary Kaye

WTLT