I know it's a good idea, I'm a guitarist and should expand my horizons to other instruments to improve my writing.

Anyways, how hard would it be to learn bass if I can play guitar? I'd imagine the picking would be the hardest part, since the notes are the same for the most part (4 string basses go EADG, right?)

Also, is this a decent bass? http://musicgoround.com/detail.aspx?id=1015394

And what kind of amp would I need? All I want to do is practice and eventually get into home recording on all instruments (going to learn drums eventually too.)

Thanks a bunch, sorry for my ignorance =\
It is easy to pick up for yourself and some home recording. The hardest part of switching to bass is playing with other people because, no matter how tight and on time you think you are on guitar, you're not at all compared to a decent bass player or drummer. It's not much of an issue for recording some home demos to a click track.
Im looking to do the opposite (buying a guitar in order to home record/improve my bass playing/grasp a better idea of melody/learn another instrument) and to me its this simple:

If you love music, learning another instrument can only be a good thing,and improve any band situation/make you more versatile/useful in a band

Im glad as a guitarist you're taking an interest in bass,not just dismissing it, as stated,it can only improve your rhythm and timing,and the thing to remember is the learning curve is totally different, you'll probably be able to follow root notes,and chug along in no time,whilst I guess it take longer to grasp chord structure on guitar,but when it comes to more complex techniques, such as slapping,tapping, counter melody, harmonics, leads/solos etc, thats when bass a) comes into its own and b) suddenly gets a lot harder than guitar (imo)