Hello, good people!

I've been playing guitar for a few months now and I recently started exploring slide guitar techniques. Thing is, I've kind of been using a lipstick cap to practice and it's kind of limiting my options. One of my friends suggested getting a test tube to substitute for a proper glass slide but I'm kind of worried. I'm kind of used to handling dangerous materials using standard test tubes found in my university's laboratories but I'm not quite sure how they can handle the vibrations coming from metal strings. What I'm worried about is the glass unexpectedly breaking on my finger while I'm playing. Have any of you had any experience with test tubes?

The tubes don't cost too much but I'm more concerned with my finger's well-being. I looked through the search engines here and I haven't found anything related to my query. Help is very much appreciated.
The pyrex used in test tubes is too thin and brittle for this sort of use. I'd be very worried about it breaking and cutting your hand up. It probably wouldn't break during slide work, but have you ever dropped a test tube? It's going to shatter the first time you lose your grip picking it up. Plus, I can't think of a test tube that would fit your finger and wouldn't be stupidly long and unwieldy for playing slide.

I'm sitting here looking at a box of Fischer 18x150mm culture tubes - fairly standard size - and they won't fit over my pinky. The glass is less than half as thick as my glass slide. I wouldn't trust them.

Update: sounds fine used as a slide. Useless, though, since I can't get one on my finger.

A real slide is what, 5 dollars? Just buy one.
Proper slides are cheap so why screw around? Glass is the easiest to learn with. The Dunlop glass slides are fine. The glass on them is many times thicker than any glass you'll find in a test tube.