Page 1 of 3
Hello Ultimate guitar, I'm glad I found these forums.

I was just wondering how much everyone practices their guitar, say in a typical day or week. I have been playing for almost 10 years now and in the beginning I played so much that I gave myself carpal tunnel syndrome and now I can only practice for about an hour a day. Much more and I will have severe pain and not be able to practice for several days. I try to make up for it by playing that hour every single day that I am in a room with a guitar.

I am mostly just curious. How much on average do you practice? Maybe add in how long you have been playing and what kind(s) of music you usually play.

I typically play metal/rock and classical.
I should practice more but college is being a bitch xD
Now I try to practice 2 hours during the week and about 5 hours on weekends when I'm at home.

I usually play blues-rock.
Fender Jazzmaster
Fender Hot Rod Deluxe
Martin OM-1 (acoustic)
i try to play for 3-5 hours a day on schooldays. on weekends i either rest and dont play, or play for around 7-10 hours and during the holidays i like to make huge improvements so i play for about 10 hours a day.
ive been (seriously) since i got my electric guitar. so 9 months. i have shot up from practising 1 hour a week (2 if im really focused), to an average of 30 hours a week. since 2 months ago, i could safely consider myself the best guitarist i know, and thats cos others have said so, but that doesnt really bother me much.

i play lots of blues and rock, occasional jazz, fusion and classical, and i also play quite a lot of metal.
Quote by itamar100
i try to play for 3-5 hours a day on schooldays. on weekends i either rest and dont play, or play for around 7-10 hours and during the holidays i like to make huge improvements so i play for about 10 hours a day.