so, right now i'm running a 5150 II with a few pedals in my band.

i'm interested in the hd500, mainly for the ability to make presets and the amount of effects packed into it for live purposes only. i wouldnt record with it, i value my pedal tone too much!

my question is, is there a way i can bypass my 5150's preamp and use the hd500 for my clean channel, but still use the amp's lead channel? i want to be able to do all this without using the amp footswitch, just the hd500. i have no experience with this, so any help or suggestions that don't exceed $500 would be appreciated.

Check out my band! Endeavor

Fender American Deluxe Telecaster (little 59')
Peavey 5150 II
Orange PPC412
Boss NS-2
Boss DD-3
Monster Power Pro 900
Korg Pitchblack Pro
Sennheiser EW 172 Wireless
Carvin 6 space rack
well with my GT10 you can 4 cable, can you 4 cable a pod?
ich bin indeed ein sprechender panda, how are you?
Music student, Jazz/Classical/Prog
Music Man JP6 BFR, Ibanez S7420, Fender American Standard, Ibanez EW35 acoustic, 6505+
seems like it would work, its just all in how i create the presets and set the diff output selections. cool! thanks guys

Peavey 5150 II
Orange PPC412
Boss NS-2
Boss DD-3
Monster Power Pro 900
Korg Pitchblack Pro
Carvin 6 space rack
Hold on!

You still there?

Alright, this is what happened: boss has announced the GT100. Which is supposedly better than anything else out there. So... If I were you, I'd wait a couple more weeks before buying a pedal. Link to announcement!
Oh, and Line 6 should make an incredible announcement this Namm, so there's more to come from there...

Also: 4cable method works just fine on the HD500, I use it every day. You can use the preamps of the pod, or the preamp of your current amp. But, some preamps will sound like sh*t in combination with your poweramp, some will sound great.

Cheers!
Scientists write papers and books. Engineers make money.