Poll: On the assumption that an American costs $2,000 and Mexican is just under $1,000
Poll Options
View poll results: On the assumption that an American costs $2,000 and Mexican is just under $1,000
American
12 57%
Mexican
9 43%
Voters: 21.
Sorry if this is a frequent question. I've done some homework but wanted more opinions.

I've gotten to the stage where my next guitar will probably be the one for life. I've landed on the Strat, I know it's really generic but it just sounds the best to me, and so incredibly versatile.

My question; is the quality difference between American and Mexican worth the price difference?

I'm a student (studying guitar) with a part time job so I've not got lots of money to splash but can save long term if it's worth it. I'm happy to buy second hand. And I'd never buy a guitar having not tried it first.
try a bunch and buy the one that really speaks to you. both sides of this debate have valid points but it really comes down to the individual guitar. i've played some MIMs that i thought were fantastic and some US that were kinda meh. there will never be a definitive end to this debate.

by the way the idea that this guitar will be for "life" is not the best mindset. believe me i've bought several guitars that were to be "the one" only to find something else down the road that was better. after 30+ years i just have "the one" for now and keep an open mind.
^ Sorry, I'm English, so 1. Both models are more expensive and 2. I was using a well out of date exchange rate that I'd become in the habit of using before such changes to the world economy.
I once heard a comparison, either you get one assembled by mexicans in Mexico, or one by mexicans in the US.

But I would say American.
We should start calling it "The Fact of Evolution", theory, even though correct, does not work with the ignorant..