Hey,

I'm looking to buy a bass for myself as a beginner, i play some guitar though nothing serious.

I'm wondering what bass is good for a beginner, but also one with good sound quality to play small supporting gigs within around 6 months time.

I have a budget of around £250 (willing to buy second hand), and currently i'm looking at a Danelectro 63 bass reissue.

Any thoughts on this bass, or any suggestions of a good bass in my price limit.

Thanks
I. LOVE. Danelectro instruments!

That said, they are niche instruments and carry with them an air of "love it or hate it". If you get use to the Dano' 63, your muscle memory wont serve you very well on any other bass.

Is it a 34" 63 or a 30" 63?

In either case, it'll mostly resemble a "Jazz Bass". Which is a Fender specific bass, but the Jazz Bass moniker is used to describe any bass with a setup that included 2 single-coil pickups.

If you have it already, i can't think of much i would prefer OVER it for 250.

Does it have a Wood bridge, or the 4-saddle metal bridge? Neither is BETTER, but the latter lends itself to more accurate intonation and string height adjustment.

If you have any specific Dano' questions, i'd be more than happy to help!

BONUS: One of my fave bands use ONLY Danelectro 63s!!

"Punk Rock should mean freedom, liking and accepting anything that you like, as sloppy as you want, as long as it's good and has passion."
my thoughts on the danelectro is that it looks awesome. no idea of the sound.
andd ive heard good things about the squier bass's which should be in your price range.

edit: those girls would make any instrument look good...
Quote by Din of Win

Is it a 34" 63 or a 30" 63?

Does it have a Wood bridge, or the 4-saddle metal bridge? Neither is BETTER, but the latter lends itself to more accurate intonation and string height adjustment.

Thanks for such a good reply !

It's a 34" long scale, and it has the 4-saddle metal bridge!