So, the sound I am going for is early Megadeth type of stuff. I have only been playing for a year or so. However, I have been playing the drums for 20 years or so, so I have been around musicians my whole life. I finally picked up the guitar to try and get the songs that are in my head out. Maybe Im looking for some type of catharsis through the guitar.

I am playing an RG3EX through a 5150 combo. Recording through an m-audio interface with pro-tools using an MXR condensor mic I usually use for my drum overheads.

Looking for some unbiased guitarists to take a listen and give me some pointers on tone, technique, whatever.

http://soundcloud.com/leo4sf
I can't consider myself a skilled guitarist by any means, but I think a little (more) reveb would go well with that kinda tone.
stop panning it... its annoying, you pan like 100% left and 0% right... you should do like 40/60 maybe... idk... all i can say is : the panning at the beginning is annoyting
Quote by sanjinator17
1. You need an EQ Mixer, Izotope Ozone 4 is very very good, but most DAWs have a decent one built in. Mess around with it to and you will find a good tone eventually. If you need help, I can show you some standard things I do with my stuff.

2. Double guitar tracks. Initially, I would just double the same guitar track and pan one 100% left and the other 100% right. But lately, I've done two separate recordings of the same riff, and panned one left and one right. I think it sounds better for a dual guitar feel, but its all preference.

3. Everything sounds better with drums, bass, etc. So don't worry if you're tone sounds bad until you've mixed it into a song and such.

Hope this helps