I have an undergradute degree in psychology...but have taught guitar part-time on the side.
I always saw myself in the health field...and still may...but just interested in options.

I do not have RCM qualification but was still able to teach students. However, if I were to turn this guitar teaching into a more serious business, what qualifications would you recommend? I see all sorts of teachers on popular websites that have masters degree and festival experience, and all sorts of awards and have been playing since a very young age. I feel that I do not have any of this and feel kinda overwhelmed by it.

So whats your opinion? Is advertizing and getting yourself out there more important than experience/credentials when it comes to being a teacher and making a living with music and teaching (not in schools). I am thinking about getting conservatory training and getting up to grade 8 eventually...

Any input/advice/opinions/views appreciated!
Being able to teach another person guitar is the only qualification required. If you can teach someone else to play and answer their questions, you are qualified. Also, being able to teach proper form and technique is also important. I know several guitarists who play well, but they were self-taught and their technique is generally accepted as wrong.

Not everyone who can play is qualified to teach. Not everyone who can teach is qualified to play.
Last edited by KG6_Steven at Jan 21, 2012,
It depends I guess.

I know equal amount of good and bad teachers both with and without credentials.

In my personal opinion, if you're going to teach music theory, then teach it with proper examples of various concepts.

This is very beneficial to the student, as in that they also learn to hear how it sounds in various contexts.

Now, for guitar technique.. You will want to check at least with qualified people/teachers if you know it correctly. (health reasons come to mind)