Okay, I'm kinda new to theory.. I know basics so I understand intervals and such.
Anyways, can you guys explain how one plays a Maj and Min scales? what really make's it different?

Now, I understand a Major scale consists of Tonic, 2, 3, P4, P5, 6 and a 7 which would make them major intervals. (Hopefully, I'm saying that right, or you understand what I'm getting at)
On the other hand Minor consists of Tonic, 2 b3, P4, P5, b6 and b7.
Now, other than that I don't really understand, what makes a musical piece major or minor? Use mostly minor/major for what ever you're going for? Use the Root Chord of the key more than any chord? Can anyone explain?

Also, when naming scale degrees(Again, hopefully I'm using the correct term here.) would you write P4 or P5 for Perfect 4th and 5th or would you only write 4 and 5?
When naming scale degrees, you wouldn't note "perfect" intervals, you only note down the alterations. For example, a major scale would just look like I-II-III-IV-V-VI-VII. A minor scale will always have a flat 3rd degree, and depending on the type, also b6 and/or b7, so when writing down, for example, a natural minor, it'll look like I-II-bIII-IV-V-bVI-bVII.

What makes a piece major or minor, is the overall tonality and the "root chord" of the piece. Say, if you pick A major as your key, the melodies and chord progressions within that piece will generally be composed of the notes found in the A major scale; and it will have the characteristic "major"sound.

Are you familiar with the "scale tone chord" principle? That would be something else to look at. Hope that helped.

“Who are you then?.."
"- I am part of that power which eternally wills evil and eternally works good.”
KULTURKAMPF
lastFM
Last edited by Emenius Sleepus at Jan 22, 2012,
They're not "perfect keys", they're perfect intervals.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc