Hey guys, I think some of you might have experience with this. I've been playing guitar for 6 years and bass 4 years, along with music theory, ear training, composition and arrengement. I know how to read sheet music, but I'm not fluent doing it, I have to take my time to decipher the music in both the treble and the bass clef. I know I wouldn't be able to sight read to save my life.

I'm deeply in love with classical music, and at first, I thought about learning how to play the upright bass, because I just had to learn fluent reading and bow movement to start progressing (and I play bass in a jazz band at the moment, it would be useful); the bass I've been playing for two years is fretless and the upright tunes just the same, but I just gave up looking for a teacher and an instrument in my region. It's very hard to find one in this area. However, one of my friends has been playing cello for 10 years and he is willing to give me some lessons. Do you think I will find it easier to learn with the musical experience I have until now?
Fender Jaguar -> Polytune -> Diamond Compressor -> Timmy -> OCD -> Big Muff -> Line 6 M9 -> Sonomatic Cheddar -> Spark boost -> Fender BDRI
Hi Svennz!
I also am a guitarist wanting to pick up cello (bought the cello, will be signing up for lessons very soon) and I have a similar background to you in music theory.

I think playing guitar helps with pressing down on the strings and will give you a good understanding of note spaces. But #*%& getting the bow down is really difficult. And tuning the cello... it's so frustrating, when it's too out to use the fine tuners the top pegs keep slipping or I'll break a string and cello strings are about $50 each. Cello has definitely made me realise how easy guitar is.