Hi, I've got an M Audio Fast track with pro tools going into my laptop, my mic is a Shure SM57 and I've got a Tele and a Les paul through a Marshall DSL401, so I've got some fairly decent gear. I'm fairly new to mixing, but I've recorded a couple of songs which sound great coming through headphones but on external speakers sound really fuzzy and muddy whereas on the headphones they sound really clear. My set up for the song is a telecaster panned left, and my LP panned right for rhythm, a bass panned centre then the solo is my LP panned centre. On the guitars I've got a high pass filter and some reverb. Can someone explain why it sounds bad on speakers??? Is there something I need to cut out of the mix to make it sound better on speakers? Like less mids or something?
thanks in advance, dave
Gibson SG Standard, Gibson SG 60s tribute, Edwards Les Paul, Fender Telecaster, Epiphone SG Custom
What headphones & speakers are you using?

It will always sound different when switching between them, so you'll need to get used to coping with that difference, however it could also be related to the quality of your speakers or headphones.
Gibson LP Traditional, LP GT, LP Studio, SG Standard x2
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm >TC Polytune > MXR Custom Badass 78 > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
Laney VC30
Marshall TSL602
Jet City JCA22H
My SoundCloud
Couldn't have said it any better myself. Gary, awesome answer man. Question for OP. When you listen back to your rec., have you used any other speakers apart from the ones you use for your "rig" ?