So I've been playing guitar for a few months. I can play the solos of November Rain and a bunch of other songs. However I don't know what the heck i'm doing half of the time, because I'm just reading off of tabs (if that makes any sense). I'm in a beginner guitar course in my school but its way to slow for me. So how can I learn about notes and rythms and music theory and all that stuff?
The best way would be to get a private teacher. But if you either can't or don't want to do that, then you can just look for online lessons. There was a really good article on this site about theory at one point, but I can't remember what it was called... Ill link it to you if I can find it again
Definitely learn lots of covers from lots of genres. Everything from metal to old rock to whatever the fxck you can think of. Also, learn plenty of scales (major, minor, phyrigian, etc). Just google shit, really. I've been playing for 5 years (self taught) and that's all I've done. And I can spank anyone I know in a rock off, so it's been working so far. You should check out some lesson sites though. Guitar365 (I think) is pretty awesome.
\/ See sig \/

As for more specifics
- Do you have a practice routine?
- Do you stick to it?
- Do you vary it?
- Do you actually 'learn' songs (so you can play them faultlessly, without music in front of you while keeping a decent rhythm/knowing how far through verses etc. you are for fills)
- What theory do you know?
- Do you 'see' theory when you play?
- Do you use theory to compose
The only 6 words that can make you a better guitarist:

Learn theory
Practice better
Practice more
Last edited by doive at Jan 23, 2012,