Hey guys, I'm a guitarist and I Want to get into drums to help improve my sense of rhythm for some really tough rhythms.
I know I won't get good at drums overnight, I have a real nice drum set my step dad likes to play on. ( he's a okay drummer he's only been playing for a year and a half now, but since he already a professional keyboardist for 20 years it helps him)
But hes not a very good teacher,
What are some good free basic lessons into drums.
IM into metal btw

like Meshuggah, After The burial, Periphery, Lamb of god, Black Dahlia murder, animals as leaders,

you get the point.

I can do a couple basic beats, but nothing really that great.

any pointers?
Start with some good ole AC/DC. Thats always pretty easy.
Quote by JD Close
Piano dick had some good parts, but should have said "As the business man slowly gets boned", would have accented the whole dick feeling of the album
OK! I've been able to play drums for about. . . .2 years now and im pretty alright.
What you want to start of with is a Basic Beat. A Basic Beat involves the Bass drum, Snare and High Hat. Here is some basic Drum tab for a basic beat: (Or something like it)

BASSD-o-o-o
SNARE:-o-o-o
HIHATooooo

Basically you want to keep your right hand at a constant speed on the high hat as you hit the other drums. This basic basic beat is the best way to start as its used in most genres of metal.

those bands you posted are very difficult to play as a beginner due to their strange timings, fast rolls and Double Kicking. if i were you i would start with AC/DC or some other kind of old school rock, as they are mainly Basic Beats. Just listen to the drums and try and pick up the timing and what drums are being hit.

From AC/DC i would move onto something like Green Day, because its (usually) a straight beat with fills. Again, Use your ear.