What do you do when you play something you really like as a new song idea but it doesn't sound like it would come in the beginning. Do you work around (which I find pretty dificult), or do you just try to use it when the time is right?

I am just getting into songwriting and for me it seems that it comes easy for me if I start from the beginning of the song first rather than work all around it.

I have lots of ideas recorded but I don't know what to do with them! Some stuff sounds like verses, some like part of a chorus, some cool riffs 2 but I don't know what to do with it all!
Something I have been working on recently is trying to figure out transitions between two different parts....something to make it sound like a smooth transition other than BAM! your in the chorus. Also when Im listening to songs I try to find the parts that repeat the same melody or rhythm in different parts of the song...such as the same melody of the chorus is in the bridge just with a different inflection or a slightly different rhythm...making two or more parts of a song out of one idea....one part clean, the other with distortion....passing a melody around i.e. guitar, then bass, then vocals...just some ideas to keep in mind....when it all comes down to it you are the creator...be creative and be you!
Most of the songs I come up with start from the chorus. which I guess makes sense cause it's supposed to be the best part. Then I use that to inspire everything else.

The rare times I find an interesting chord progression or riff I just play it over and over and make up lyrics to build it into a song.

As for transitions, most songs have a pre chorus to shift the tone over. Look up some Fall Out Boy songs, they almost always have them.
Quote by Unreal T
What do you do when you play something you really like as a new song idea but it doesn't sound like it would come in the beginning. Do you work around (which I find pretty dificult), or do you just try to use it when the time is right?