1st, I am a total noob.

I ordered a Squire Bullet off of Amazon for my son.
(Wife says he has to learn an instrument, I say he should at least enjoy it.)

It arrives looking fine but where the neck joins the body there are two cracks in the body. Looks like the neck might have been tightened down too much. These are not surface and I can only see them spreading, but I don't know.

Is this typical in any way?

I plan on returning the Guitar but figured I might as well ask.

This is his first instrument, and we are trying the Rocksmith thing to help him develop the basic skills and muscle memory needed to play.

2nd, I have an initial budget of around $200 or so for the guitar. If this is anything like mountain biking then spending a lot of money before you know how to ride and know what you want is a waste.

Is staying with the Squire a good idea or does it really matter too much at this level?

Would it be helpful to move up to a $180-200 instrument or would that be better invested down the line?

My son is 10, the Squire does not seem too large for him at all. I live in Columbus, OH. He has no special preference in music at this point, he is a very laid back kid.

I know the noob threads are annoying as hell so sorry but I appreciate anyone who has gotten this far and is willing to offer some advice.
If there are cracks in a brand new instrument, I'd definitely return it.

Squier are definitely good first instruments. What sort of amp have you purchased to use with it?

Personally I prefer to think it's better to start on an acoustic rather than an electric, but UG's forums appear to be split about 50/50 on that one.

One thing is for sure though, Rocksmith isn't really a way to learn how to play guitar. All he will learn is how to play a game using a guitar as the controller. It's probably OK to incorporate this into a practice routine, but you would be better off actually getting him some proper lessons so he learns to play properly.