I was playing tennis today at one of the clubs nearby. I know the people who own this club very well. I used to work as a coach for them, and before they owned it, I worked at the same courts as a coach for the previous owner. I'm the only person who has been a part of the workings of the courts for both owners. Of course, I no longer work there, but clearly we're all still very friendly.

Today, I noticed that they had a new racquet in stock. It's a very nice one. Federer uses it. I'm in the market for a new racquet, and this is one of the ones that I'm considering buying, so I asked if it would be okay for me to take the demo racquet to use for 10 minutes or so. This is common - you shouldn't buy a tennis racquet without using it.

"Sure!", they said. But what happened next left me totally perplexed. "We charge 10% of the purchase price to use the demo racquet, and it's non-refundable. The reason for this is that if we don't, people will just buy the racquets online."

In this case, the cost of using a racquet for 10 minutes would have been $40 which I would never see again. Without a doubt, this is one of the dumbest ways to cope with online sales undercutting your prices that I've ever heard of. Though to be fair, I was planning on buying the racquet online, anyway.

Now, in this instance, it's clear what this business should be doing to cope with the pressure of the internet. Lower their profit margins (which are currently at about 150% for this racquet... Insane...), and capitalise on the advantage of being able to try before you buy, and sell on the spot without shipping.

But what about other businesses?

Movie theatres. What advantage could they possibly sell us when most of us have home theatres with equal quality surround sound?

Clothing stores. What's the point of worrying about what other people in a store think of how you look, or whether the security guard wants to look into your bag, when all you need to know is your size to buy it cheaper online?