Hello,

I recently got into singing (i already play guitar) and if this new interest keeps itching me, I'd might take a chance on it and spend some serious time and energy in it.

Now the thing is, I don't have a good place or house where i can practice singing. I have housemates and i'm kind of ashamed to start practicing doing sclaes and all the other basic but important exercises. Besides, since i'm a complete beginner, every sound i make will sound awkward, which doesn't help in NOT being ashamed in front of others. I know i shouldn't mind what others think (i'm old enough for that), but still, for me it also is something completely new and i have never done it before.

So i'd like to know, how do you guys think about it or how did you handle it when you'd like to practice singing without having a good location?? (think about housemates, etc. etc.).

Also, how much should i practice singing? I already play 2 to 2.5 hours a day guitar, and i'm not willing to cut out from that. Is for example, an additional 1 hour for singing each day enough???

My goal (if this interest keeps on i'll like it) is to sing somewhat on a high level (professional?).

Thank you for reading and for responding
Last edited by soulnrock at Jan 27, 2012,
I practice in the car! Lol.
Yamaha Pacifica 112j
Marshall JCM 100DSL
Custom 2x12 G12H Extension Cab

Nevermind.........
You might want to sing in a desolate place for a first few months until you become anything other than absolutely bad. A car is a good start.

About time? I actually NEVER measured how much I sing, how often or whatnot, but I do practice it seriously, but only when I feel like it. I'm enjoying every moment of it, never forcing myself. Just do it when you feel like it.

The great thing about singing, is that you can also do it while doing other things. When I play video games I have songs playing in background and I sing them, for example.
Anytime you find yourself alone...just milk every little chance you get.