Page 1 of 2
I always thought that having a teacher and having someone there to help you along the way was the best way to learn. So why did the self-taught guitarists become the most successful?
They worked harder to learn to play like their heroes instead of having some old man teaching them simple chords and crap like Mary Had a Little Lamb. More motivated, more driven.
ESP Edwards Explorer - DiMarzio D Activator
ESP LTD V-300 - DiMarzio D Activator
ESP LTD EC-401 - DiMarzio D Activator
Ibanez RG2EX2 - DiMarzio Super Distortion / LiquiFire
Hughes and Kettner Switchblade 100
BOSS NS-2
Hardwire Polyphonic Tuner
electric guitar still isn't necessarily taken "seriously" in a university setting because the major focuses are typically classical and jazz, and if you haven't noticed, those aren't necessarily the most popular genres on the radio.

in fact, a lot of iconic players don't actually play anything particularly difficult. look at kirk hammett and the guys from poison. huge names, but you won't see them in a theory textbook for their contributions to their instruments.
Quote by Kevätuhri
Hail isn't too edgy for posts, posts are not edgy enough for Hail.

Quote by UseYourThumb
You win. I'm done here.
Many that were self taught came up with their own styles, but in contrast many that were taught also sound like no one else and are also amazing. Check out the list of quality guitarists that Joe Satriani has taught for a start!
i know but jimi hendrix and eric clapton didnt just pick up a guitar and know how to play a g chord... or did they?
Well, lets define "Self Taught"... Stevie Ray Vaughan, for example, was taught initially by his Brother Jimmy, and then developed his own style later on. Now, granted, I'm sure that they weren't what most would call "Formal Lessons" and I'm sure that the Theory discussions were probably limited to Chord Progressions, and perhaps that the scales he was playing were pentatonic.