I have been playing guitar for around 7 months now and I have a choice of two songs to perform for my music exam (i have around 5 months to learn it I think). The two songs i can choose from are Albatross by Fleetwood Mac or Parisienne Walkways by Gary Moore. I prefer Parisienne Walkways in terms of listening, but which will i be able to play better? I really want to get a good grade, but I might mess up on playing Parisienne walkways because it seems harder.
They're both pretty easy. The arpeggio part on Parisienne walkways was difficult for me for like a day but then I very quickly got the hang of it.
The most difficult part of parissiene walkways is the timing. It's in 7/8 so it'll take some. Practice with a metronome.
Last edited by itamar100 at Jan 29, 2012,
I would imagine Parisienne walkways is harder for most people. Lots of bends and vibrato. It also has a super fast blues lick halfway through which will be very very hard for someone who has been playing 7 months. Timing is also harder on parisienne walkways.

If you fancy a challenge choose Parisinne walkways although i would say the safer bet is albatross. You could EASILY learn both in 5 months and then pick on the day. I just reckon you will have trouble nailing that lick in the parisienne walkways as you've been playing for 7 months and you shouldn't be sacrificing clean playing for speed especially at this stage.

You could be awesome though, i dont know. Just make sure learn the song slowly and practice vibrato a lot. Adding vibrato to bends is advanced technique so make sure you can bend in tune before you attempt it.

edit: parisienne walkways is in 12/8