I don't know what happened to my old UG account, but ah well. Yet another noob looking for help, so any thoughts would be appreciated!

The short version: I've recently moved to the US and am looking to buy a guitar to use here, but I'll also be living in studio apartments most of the time, and can't really make much noise. What guitar / setup would work for playing on lowish volumes or headphones?

The detailed version:
Requirements: I've played on and off for ~5 years, so I can do the basics, but I'm still a beginner. I have zero gear here so would need a guitar+amp set or something. Due to where I'll be living, I think most of the time I'd either be playing on terribly low volume (i.e. the level of listening to music on the computer), or on headphones. I don't want a terrible guitar, but I don't want to get a great one then sit there unable to crank up the volume, as I have a pretty good Gibson Les Paul studio back in New Zealand.

Budget: I'd be willing to go up to 1000USD for everything, if I'm getting something that's great for the money. But again, I wouldn't want to spend more than I can utilize in my environment. I'd prefer new rather than used.

Style Preferences: I don't know much about guitars, but from trying some out I know I love Les Pauls and I tend to like humbuckers over single coil. As for artists, instead of saying what artists I want my guitar to sound like (because, well, it doesn't quite work that way ), I'll say what I'd eventually like to be able to play. Some well known names in order of priority: Porcupine Tree, Radiohead (Bends/OKC), early Muse, early Metallica, Incubus.

Technical Preferences: This is the area I know least about, so I'm open to suggestions. I'm a small guy so wouldn't be too comfortable with huge frets or bodies, and... well, I'm not even sure what to say for this.