Hi all
This is my first post and I am relatively new to playing guitar so please go easy!!!
My question is - when trying to solo over a chord progression (for example in the key of E) and using the pentatonic scale, do I use the "E Major" pentatonic scale when the rhythm part is playing the "E" chord (ie resolving back on the root note E) and then move onto using the "A minor" pentatonic scale (ie resolving back on the root note A) when the rhythm part is playing the "Am" chord, and so on? And if so is this what modes are or am I on a completely different wave length altogether?
Thanks in advance for any responses.
You can do that, but it might be a little awkward over quick changes. If the track is in E major, you can play E major pentatonic over the whole thing
My Soundcloud
Always up for some C4C, been compared to Frank Turner, The Cure's Robert Smith and Bruce Springsteen so check out my stuff if you like the sound of that
Thanks for the quick reply Paddy. How do I know if I should be playing a major or minor pentatonic?
It's very simple, you solo in the key of the song. If the song is in E major, you solo in E major, even if it's over an A or B chord for example, since they both are used in the E major scale.
OK thats cool thanks for the speedy replies. That makes it so much easier so. Maybe its not such an uphill battle after all.
Another question though if you dont mind- what dictates which scale position you use or is that just a matter of choice and convenience depending on where abouts on the neck you are playing?
Quote by neilspost2
OK thats cool thanks for the speedy replies. That makes it so much easier so. Maybe its not such an uphill battle after all.
Another question though if you dont mind- what dictates which scale position you use or is that just a matter of choice and convenience depending on where abouts on the neck you are playing?

you answered your own question
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62