Hey guys,

I'm a relatively new guitarist been playing about 7 months. I have barre chords, power chords palm muting and hammer-on and pull-off techniques down pretty well.

I'm struggling right now with writing my own fresh material, I have a few chord progressions I've worked out using power chords that I like the sound of but I was just wondering if you guys could help point me in the right direction regarding building intros, solos and interludes. Any good reads out there for me? The internet is flooded with information on theses kinds of things and it's overwhelming trying to find the right videos, the good ones, the bad ones etc.

For any aspiring pop / punk artists out there if you could help share some of the things that really got your ball rolling that would be awesome .

One more thing... As this is my first post I hope it's ok as far as formatting and relevance is concerned. I don't want to piss off the community!

Thanks for reading.
I'm reporting this because it'd be better for S&L Techniques, and this is more for poetry and lyrics themselves.

Honestly though, just continue playing and practicing your favorite songs. You'll slowly learn the ins and outs of constructing riffs, relevant chord progressions, and how to transition between what you want. The more practice, the broader your scope of bands, and how hard you try will all factor in to teaching you how to better construct a pop song.

Fall back:

Intro
Verse
Chorus
Verse
Chorus
Interlude
Chorus
Chorus

All over I-V-vi-IV (D, A, Bm, G if in D major)
Moved to Musician Talk.

Don't worry, you're not pissing anyone off. Just give the rules of each forum a quick read over and you shall fit in well.
Thanks for that. I've seen that video and it did help somewhat. I can play dammit and what's my age again but formulating my own riffs with that ascending root note is still a little confusing to me. Maybe you could eloborate on your take of what he says? That'd be cool.