I've been playing guitar for 7 years. Self taught. Because I'm self taught I have no knowledge of theory, scales/modes or any of that. I love neo-classical guitar and would love to play that better.
So I want to learn theory/tab but have no clue where to start. Do I learn the notes? How? Also, I have a hard time learning from a book.
Any tips? I know there are some crazy shredders on this site.
How did you start learning theory and the like?
Quote by trainspotted11
I've been playing guitar for 7 years. Self taught. Because I'm self taught I have no knowledge of theory, scales/modes or any of that. I love neo-classical guitar and would love to play that better.
So I want to learn theory/tab but have no clue where to start. Do I learn the notes? How? Also, I have a hard time learning from a book.
Any tips? I know there are some crazy shredders on this site.
How did you start learning theory and the like?

No relation there. Being self-taught implies the lack of a teacher, not learning material. Plenty of theory information in the internet, as well as on this site.

Learn the notes on fretboard, basic chords, and I guess the major scale, but not just learn, try to find practical use for it.
Normally I would recommend a couple of books, but since you don't want to go that route, have you considered one of the pay lesson sites like Jamplay.com? (I'm not affiliated with them, but did some reviews of them for a third party and found them to be pretty worthwhile and very reasonably priced for what you get).

Figuring out a way to have some sort of structured lessons - whether it's private lessons with a teacher, a book/DVD series, or something like that is definitely the way to go if you want to take your playing to the next level.