Hi all!

You may have seen my previous newbie post. Thanks to all that answered!

I wanted to pull out one of the bullet points in that previous post regarding "pickup covers". I'm not even really sure that's what you call them.

I've been in the market for a new Les Paul. I've discovered I like the playability, sound, and appearance of the Gibson Les Paul 50's Tribute Honeyburst. Man that is nice looking.

However, those "open" pickups are absolutely buttcrack ugly in my opinion. The folks from my previous said that putting "covers" over the pickups, so that it resembles more of a Les Paul Studio, is not the most straightforward process.

Can someone elaborate on what this would take, why it is/is not a good idea, and any other comments related?

Thanks!
Quote by ouijaspirit
so you're a newbie looking at a gibson les paul you sound like a spoiled wannabe

I struggled with the "don't feed the trolls" mantra on this one, but ultimately thought I'd respond.

I'm a newbie to the forum. Thanks for reading my previous post.
Quote by ouijaspirit
so you're a newbie looking at a gibson les paul you sound like a spoiled wannabe

And you joined how long ago? You got issues.

Anyways, take a look at Stewmac, I know they sell pickup covers. I'm not sure on how to install them though. You could probably browse the googles for help though.

btw link to covers:
http://www.stewmac.com/shop/Electronics,_pickups/Pickups:_Parts/Humbucking_Pickup_Covers.html

They have a bunch of helpful parts.
you have to melt wax onto the pickup before you put the cover on than solder the cover to the back of the pickup. personally i don't see it being worth the effort. this is the first time i've heard open pickups called ugly lol but to each his own.
and about him wanting a les paul, who cares?
my stuff:
schecter c-1+
ibanez rg3exfm1
schecter avenger 7-string with emgs
esp/ltd mh-50
peavey 6505+ 112 combo
tc electronic polytune
way huge green rhino
mxr micro flange
mxr smart gate
dunlop crybaby