Hey, UG

I've been playing acoustic for about 2 years now and electric for about 1 and a half and my main electric is a Squier Affinity Strat (S/S/S) (unsurprisingly). Recently I've been thinking about buying a MIM Strat but since I saw some poor reviews I wondered would it be better to just upgrade the shit out of my Squier? I am looking for a blues-rock dirty sound, and good cleans, so basically as versatile as possible without metal, since I don't play that genre that often.
Well, upgrading a squier is waste of money and time. Wait until you have enough money to buy a MIM standard strat. Then you can buy many things for that price, buy one, and modify the new one by the time. Or, save more money, wait longer, be patience and buy a better Japanese guitar, Jackson, Ibanez Prestige 1000 series, Japanese Fender, High-End Epiphones(although I don't recommend), or maybe an LTD 401 series guitar. But you say that you don't have time or money to afford this, then modify your guitar and buy some pedals to support it, but you know, I always prefer the original one. I mean, I want to buy a higher degree guitar instead of buying a lower one and modifying, if I have chance for a decision. But if your budget is low, go on with that, save money for 1 year.
I was in that boat for a long time. Honestly, I upgraded the hell out of my squier. All new hardware and electronics. If you sat in front of me and played my American and then played it I'd have trouble telling the difference through a clean amp. Put them in my hands though and it's night and day.
It's not a waste of money to upgrade a squier, unless you truly care about resale value. Even then a baseline Squier isn't worth anything to begin with and you could get your money back out of parts. I just don't think that way though.
Winner of the 2011 Virginia Guitar Festival

Protools HD
Lynx Aurora 16/HD192
Mojave, Sennheiser, AKG, EV etc mics
Focusrite ISA828 pres
Waves Mercury
Random Rack Gear

65 Deluxe Reverb
PRS CE 22