So, I'm studying in Australia next semester at UNSW. Now, I was looking at prepaid phone options, specifically at Optus and Vodaphone. It seems like Optus is a little more expensive, but is this because there is better coverage?

Also, it works slightly different than here in the US. So my understanding is this: let's say you recharge for $30, then they would give you like $300 worth of credit and then charge you certain rates for calls, texts, etc.? is that the basic gist?

So do any of you guys use prepaid phones from these companies? What recharge plans do you usually use? Also anything I should know about coverage problems or anything like that?

All help is appreciated, thanks!
[]
Coverage sucks outside of populated areas regardless of who your with.
No man has the right to be an amateur in the matter of physical training. It is a shame for a man to grow old without seeing the beauty and strength of which his body is capable

@gossage91
@overtimefitnessau
telstra provides the best service in the country, hands down. vodafone has had massive problems. optus should be fine around UNSW, as its close to the CBD. and yes, your understanding of our prepaid thang is correct a text message i usually 25c, and the charge for a call will vary with provider.
Quote by MrChief
tbh i wanted to watch 2 girls one cup , and the website i clicked on was totally corrupt.

and the video was sick.

Current gear:
Slash Epiphone Les Paul Standard
Hiwatt G50R
BOSS ME-50
Quote by jambi_mantra
Coverage sucks outside of populated areas regardless of who your with.

This. Although being at UNSW you shouldn't worry about that. I've heard that either Vodafone, or Virgin has terrible reception/coverage problems, can't remember which it was. Optus/Telstra are the best I think.
"People like Coldplay and voted for the Nazis; you can't trust people."
Quote by LesThanPaul