I turned on my amp today (My trusty Blackstar HT40) and turned the master volume to the modest 11 o' clock position but I started listening closely and there's a weird "uuuuuuuuu" sound coming from the amp even when I'm not playing. My cable doesn't seem to be the problem but I tried another one to be sure but the problem is still there. The amp is less than one year old! I've carried it around to places and sometimes it'll bump into the walls and such but it isn't a ridiculous pounding. I really hope that isn't case.. Does anyone know what the problem could be?

I appreciate the help guys.
I am no expert at this (I just saw this question since I am in the sub-forum ), but maybe I could still help you figure it out.

Was it second hand?

did you drop any liquids or anything on it recently?

when did you last try it? possible interference from something?
This will start a RIOT! in me
Well I use a Boss Driver and Ibanez Tubescreamer along with a Boss CE-5 chorus but I didn't have them on today. Just the footswitch and the amp itself. It wasn't second it because I bought it new from a local guitar shop. I haven't dropped any liquids or anything but the last time I tried it I had to crank it to around the 7 position to match up with another guitarist and I was feeding back pretty bad but I eventually turned the gain down and it fixed the problem.

It's been really cold recently too but everywhere I set the amp it's warm, could it get damaged from carrying it to the car during cold weather? Thanks for the help guys, I'm trying all different kinds of settings to see if it's simply too much volume or something else.
A high gain amp is going to have some inherent white noise because of the amount of gain the amp is pumping out. How loud are we talking, when compared to the guitar signal?
Endorsed by Dean Guitars 07-10
2003 Gibson Flying V w/ Moon Inlay
2006 Fender All-American Partscaster
SVK ELP-C500 Custom

1964 Fender Vibro Champ
1989 Peavey VTM60