i've gotten used to my thumb hiding behind my hand during fingerstylin

teacher keeps telling me to extend my thumb outward beside my hand

are the consequences of this really bad
i dont really understand what you mean :P
can you elaborate?
Quote by Hail
i'm the internet equivalent of ripping the skin off my face and strangling you with it right now

Quote by Steve Albini
Remixing is for talentless pussies who don't know how to tune a drum or point a microphone.
im a noob at fingerstlye picking, i never use it, but the basics stay the same, your hand is relaxed and your thumb must be ready to pull towards your palm.

If you are hiding it inside your palm it would mea, that to play a string you would have to pull it out and then pull it in again, which is an immense waste of energy and time

Are you not using the thumb at all?

__
Side question, does anyone know why PIMA style doesnt use the pinky?
Quote by Hail
i'm the internet equivalent of ripping the skin off my face and strangling you with it right now

Quote by Steve Albini
Remixing is for talentless pussies who don't know how to tune a drum or point a microphone.
Last edited by Slashiepie at Feb 6, 2012,
Quote by Slashiepie
im a noob at fingerstlye picking, i never use it, but the basics stay the same, your hand is relaxed and your thumb must be ready to pull towards your palm.

If you are hiding it inside your palm it would mea, that to play a string you would have to pull it out and then pull it in again, which is an immense waste of energy and time

Are you not using the thumb at all?

__
Side question, does anyone know why PIMA style doesnt use the pinky?
my hand IS relaxed. If i let my hand drop freely its naturally a bit behind my palm, that's why I got used to it. I just don't get how my thumb outside sideward is supposed to be easier when it's farther.

Pinky is quite short so it doesn't line up as well as the other fingers. The first four digits are so strong anyway, you rarely need pinky.