I've been playing guitar for about 5 years now and I really enjoy it. My main inspiration to start playing was Guitar Hero. I got the first game the day of launch and played it for a few years and I ended up getting (not trying to toot my own horn, here) Pretty good at it to the point where I was bored of it. Then I learned real guitar. Now I hate people who play music games like Rock Band and Guitar Hero because they all seem to think they're a musician. I remember when I thought I was the greatest virtuoso since Vie when I beat Raining Blood on hard. But I guess I haven't really asked a question yet so I'll get to the point, are music games good for the musical community? Personally, I think that people are discovering music the wrong way. You should be out seeing bands and talking to people about good music, not sitting in front of a TV.
When in doubt, SHRED!
They're games, they don't really have any impact on the musical community. Do racing games impact racing? Do boxing games impact boxing? I could go on, but I won't as I'm aware that I'm terminally boring
My Soundcloud
Always up for some C4C, been compared to Frank Turner, The Cure's Robert Smith and Bruce Springsteen so check out my stuff if you like the sound of that
Quote by jetfuel495
In all my years I've never actually heard anyone make this claim. I think it's something guitarists make up to justify their hate for the games.

Yep.

If not for Guitar Hero I would have never heard of Tool or any music that I like for that matter.
Quote by jetfuel495
In all my years I've never actually heard anyone make this claim. I think it's something guitarists make up to justify their hate for the games.

This. I've heard one kid say "I can play that on guitar hero" ONCE, and I'm fairly certain it was in jest anyway. All these stories about kids in guitar center coming up to you while you're playing some ubersweetawesomeguitarsolo and claiming superiority are complete bullshit.
Check out my band Disturbed