Ok, so naturally I was all set to get the Squier CV series later this week, naturally my guitar center doesn't have any in stock for the nearest 500 miles.

They DO however have a VM series with a humbucker about 45 minutes away.

They are the exact same price, so would quality really matter? How would the humbucker make the guitar sound? I'm a beginner so do I really need something with a humbucker on it?
Well for one thing squier sucks. What's your price range and I'll recommend something that isn't made of plywood for the same price.
Quote by Kensai

Quote by Lots O' FX
Why do you hate America?
Quote by 2 15/16
Well for one thing squier sucks. What's your price range and I'll recommend something that isn't made of plywood for the same price.

Clearly you know nothing about this matter? Squier's CV and VM series are amongst the absolute best in their price range. Just because Affinitys and Bullets suck balls doesn't mean that everything else by Squier does, mate.
Gear:

Guitars: Ibanez SV5470F, Ibanez Xpt700, Fender MIM Standard Stratocaster ('04-'05), Jackson Ps-2
Ashton AG200,
Amps: ENGL E530, Bugera 6262-212,
FX: TC Electronics G-major 2, Behringer EQ700, Morley Volume / Wah
^ Pretty much what he said, although since your a beginner you don't need anything great and probably won't be able to tell the difference, so if you do stick with the Squier, either one will be fine, I however would prefer the VM series. It will be more flexible, you'll cover a lot more genres with the humbucker added and could always swap it out with something nicer eventually
the CV series is actually pretty good. but the necks are a little thin.

to answer your other question Do you need a humbucker, its sort of like asking, what amp do i like? Humbuckers are great if you want to sort out some more rocky tones. It is achievavle with a singlecoil, but it will be buzzier and thinner.
What model has the humbucker? if it is HSS it will be ideal.