Hey. One of my school friends asked me if i could teach her bass. Im willing to try, but ive been playing guitar for about 5 years..
Im reasonably accomplished, and i know music theory, so i think i could explain how bass works musically, and what its there to do.

Do you think I should try, or just get her a teacher?
Have you ever actually played bass? If youre not adept at playing a particular instrument then you shouldnt attempt to teach it.

Just because you can play guitar doesnt mean you can play bass. I made that assumption (hey, its just like a guitar but with less strings so its easier, right?) but its not the case at all.

There wouldnt be anything wrong with giving your friend some helpful pointers, afterall guitar and bass do overlap somewhat, but if she is serious about playing she should look at getting a bona fide teacher
So it seems like you don't play the bass yourself? I could hire a pianist to teach me how guitar works musically but that wouldn't get me as far as a guitarist teaching me how to play guitar. So unless you've played the bass I wouldn't really recommend it.
E:-6
B:-0
G:-5
D:-6
A:-0
E:-3
Maybe, You can teach the theory side, scales and arpeggios and stuff like that but the actual fundamental stuff you would need to be a bassist yourself, and you wouldnt be able to teach slap bass if you only play guitar.
Quote by ChucklesMginty
Or correct right hand technique.

This. If you teach him, he's either going to end up with bad right hand technique, and possibly just be one of these bassists that can't play with anything other than a pick. There's nothing wrong with picks, but I think it's healthy for a bassist to start off playing with fingers.
Ah Thanks for all the info guys

I think im gonna teach theory, but find someone to teach the physical side, cause we live in a small town in the middle of nowhere, and its hard to find anyone who knows proper theory.

Thanks for all the replies!