I've been playing guitar for just under 4 months now and during that time I've spent some time trying to develop my fret reach.

During that time, I've made *some* progress. I'm now just about able to play chords requiring a 4 fret reach and a barre at the 1st position (e.g. A#Sus4) on a 24.75 in. neck w/ 22 frets. It isn't quite comfortable yet and these tire me out pretty fast, but it's getting there.

I don't have very large hands or long fingers. My 2nd finger is about 3 5/16" long, my 1st finger about 3 1/16", my 3rd finger is about 3 1/8", my 4th finger is about 2 5/8". And my palms are actually quite narrow.

In your experience is it realistic to assume that a 5 fret reach with a 1st position barre is (sorry for the pun) within my reach with continued practice? Or is that too much to hope for?
Last edited by ald10 at Feb 7, 2012,
well ive never personally had to deal too much with stretch, my pinky is longer than your second finger. but i do know that the stretch of your hand is something that develops over a lot of practice. pianists spend years developing this, as do most athletes. the only aid would be to hold your guitar right.

have a look at a lot of jazz guitarists and shredders. notice how their guitar is almost vertical at some times. this gives a better position for stretching (providing the hand is behind the neck). although stretch is physically limited, you can improve it. look at shawn lane, he had tiny hands but was doing insane stretches.

just keep practicing.
You telling us you finger lengths really has almost nothing to do with it. It's more about flexibility than length. Put simply, with practice, 5 frets is definitely possible.
Quote by Geldin
Junior's usually at least a little terse, but he knows his stuff. I've always read his posts in a grouchy grandfather voice, a grouchy grandfather with a huge stiffy for alternate picking.
Besides that, he's right this time. As usual.
Quote by Marshmelllow