I've been playing for roughly 7 years now but I haven't really varied my tuning much - started standard, switched to drop-D, and now I'm experimenting with drop-C. I've started to listen to more post-metal, stoner metal, etc. and love the low and heavy tones they get. So I decided to look up some tabs to see their tunings. For one band (Kylesa), a song called for a drop-G tuning (G D G C E A) ... and I did a double-take to make sure I was reading it properly. When I'm tuning to drop-C it seems like the strings are loose, so I'm curious as to if there's a special technique for stringing and/or tuning a guitar to tune it so low? (so that you can actually play instead of having the strings sort of dangle on your guitar)
I am twelve and Что это?

Quote by Dopey_Trout
I think the problem you're having is you're trying to apply logic to Christianity, a religion based on a cosmic zombie
Dropped G without a 7 string? I was always under the impression that it was really impractical to go much lower than Bb or A on a standard guitar. It's possible that they use baritone guitars which have longer scales and thicker string grooves in the nut to accommodate thicker strings - they'd need to be pretty damn thick to hold a low G in tune. As for tunings like C and B, all you should really need is a thicker set of strings (I've played in dropped b with 10-52 gauge and been alright) and maybe a set-up and intonation check.
Thicker strings always fixed the problem for me. I'll play in Drop C when I'm feeling heavy (Standard D otherwise which is basically the same thing but with the low string tuned to D instead of C) and I use 11-49 strings. I recently discovered the 10-52's by Ernie Ball so I might switch to those eventually.
Quote by _Benighted_