What's going on, UG?

I'm a guitarist of two years experience and lately, I've been into Bullet For My Valentine. I'm trying to play Waking The Demon but it's all downpicking in the intro and verses. I can keep up with it, but after a while my shoulder starts hurting and I've got to stop.

My question is, what are some ways that you guys practiced downpicking? Did you just set up a metronome and speed it up every so often? I really want to know.

Thanks, UG.

-Syx
This post brought to you thoughtfully by Syx
.show_Gear://
.load_guitar: Jackson_Rhoads.24_frets
.load_amp: Crate_G40C
.load_pedals: Digitech_distortionfactory_7 ; Dunlop_original_crybaby
.load_mic: Shure_PG58
i usually find other songs that i can play only down picking and just try to play along with those. a lot of Bullet for my Valentine songs are good for that, like Her Voice Resides or Ashes of the Innocent. Just keep playing the main riff with down picking over and over again, and you will quickly notice that you will be able to do it for longer, and your speed will increase.
My Guitar Rig:
Peavey 6505+ Head
Peavey 6505 slant cab
MXR Smart Gate
MXR Noise Clamp
Ibanez ts-9 tubescreamer
Ibanez RGA72tqm with EMG 81/85

Other Guitar Gear:
Fender Vibro Champ
TTM Guitars Devastator
LTD EC-200
@14xjake
You must be a Bullet fan too. Cool.

I can do the riffs just fine, it's just that I was wondering what everyone else does for speeding up their downpicking.
Quote by asixex
@14xjake
You must be a Bullet fan too. Cool.

I can do the riffs just fine, it's just that I was wondering what everyone else does for speeding up their downpicking.

Play it until you are faster, it's a simple as that.
Quote by asixex
What's going on, UG?

I'm a guitarist of two years experience and lately, I've been into Bullet For My Valentine. I'm trying to play Waking The Demon but it's all downpicking in the intro and verses. I can keep up with it, but after a while my shoulder starts hurting and I've got to stop.