I hear that if it get bad enough, you won't even be able to play guitar again.

I realized a while ago that my technique was horrible. I played with my wrist too bent and it started hurting quite a bit when I finished playing a power chord song like In Bloom, Song 2, Hammerhead, etc.

I've been trying to get a better left hand technique but I noticed that sometimes, when I bend, I get this pain in wrist that really worries me.

Should I take a break from guitar or something? I don't want this to get serious. I've read about people with wrist tendonitis not being able to play for months. Being self taught, it's hard to know when I'm getting something right.
A break will never hurt your guitar playing to bad , and is sometimes just the thing you need to overcome any technical hurdles you maybe having.

And when you come back to playing, remember to stretch your muscles before touching the guitar. As well as when you are done playing. If you as still have a lot of pain after this, maybe you could go see a doctor, if nothing more than to put your mind at ease.
Want Sub-Forums For GB&C, CLICK and Comment to Help the Right People Notice.
It's good to take breaks every once in a while. Let your wrist heal for a day or two and then try again, this time with proper technique. If the pain still persists, go see a doctor.
Quote by Geldin
Junior's usually at least a little terse, but he knows his stuff. I've always read his posts in a grouchy grandfather voice, a grouchy grandfather with a huge stiffy for alternate picking.
Besides that, he's right this time. As usual.
Is this on an acoustic? What gauge strings do you have? What's your grip like on the neck?

It can be quite easy to correct these things if you zoom in on them.
Look up some online lessons about left-hand ergonomics/posture.
Breakfast, Breakfast, it's great for us
We eat, we eat, we eat
That frozen meat
Oh boy, oh boy, oh boy, it can't be beat