I started playing bass, and I was hoping you guys could suggest me some good right hand exercises. I also have these questions...

How many fingers should I use? (right hand)
Where do I rest the thumb? (right hand)
How do I play slap bass?
Do you only do upstrokes? (right hand)

P.S: I already know how to play guitar, so my left hand fingers are ok.
Just need work on my right hand.

Thanks,
Last edited by MaddMann274 at Feb 10, 2012,
Since I can't slap to save my life, I'll leave off the last question. None of my heroes were or are slap players, but there are many, many good instructional videos on the various slap techniques in use these days. Basically, you hit the string with the side of your thumb in a percussive fashion until you get the proper sound. It ain't as easy as it looks, but if you practice, then you'll nail it.

Good right hand exercises? Chromatic exercises, and chromatic exercises with string skipping are two of your best friends. Get a metronome, start slowly and bump up the tempo when your playing becomes smooth, fluid and even. Boring, but well worth the effort.

How many fingers should you use? As many as you want and/or as many as you can. The more fingers you use to pluck the strings, the more you can do and the faster you can do it. There is no rule for how many fingers to use. Billy Sheehan is a virtual machine with his right-hand technique. He uses four fingers and occasionally all five. But he'll tell you to start with one, and if that works, then use two. If that works, use three. If it doesn't, then go back to using two. If it works, try four. If that's too much, then go back to using three. Again, use the metronome and chromatic exercises to develop multiple finger capability.

Most people play only upstrokes, but you can use alternating up and down strokes in what is called "flamenco" technique. Geddy Lee of Rush is a big proponent of this, but he often plays with only one finger, too.