So I bought a Fender Blacktop Jazzmaster recently. Everything is fine except the action is a little bit too high for my liking.

I'd like to attempt lowering the action myself but I couldn't find a guide anywhere on the internet about this specific bridge and I've never done it before. I would never dare to attempt it without some tips from someone who can do this figuratively speaking with eyes closed.

So can I just loosen the bridge with the right tool and lower it, or is it not that simple?

I thought I'd include a picture of the guitar so you can clearly see what I'm dealing with.
fret at first fret and last fret of low E string, what is the distance of string to fretboard at 12th fret?
ich bin indeed ein sprechender panda, how are you?
Music student, Jazz/Classical/Prog
Music Man JP6 BFR, Ibanez S7420, Fender American Standard, Ibanez EW35 acoustic, 6505+
Quote by benedicto16
beautiful guitar

Thanks! It was a great investment.

Quote by omidmash
fret at first fret and last fret of low E string, what is the distance of string to fretboard at 12th fret?

The distance at the first fret is 3 millimeter and 6 millimeter at the 12th fret.
The Blacktop Jazzmaster shares a bridge style with the Jaguar.

http://www.jag-stang.com/guitars/jaguar/setting-up-your-jaguar/

The relevant part is about halfway through the article. You adjust each saddle individually with a 1/2 mm hex key.
Actually, I go by Dave, but there are already too many Daves on this forum.

Fender MIM Stratocaster
Fender Jaguar Bass
Epiphone EJ200 Super Jumbo
Fender Excelsior 13w
Acoustic B300HD (with matching 1x12 cab)
BOSS BD-2W
NYC Big Muff Pi
Quote by omidmash

that's how you check the neck relief which is related to action to a certain extent, but not necessarily what the TS needs to do.