Folks

I just pre-ordered an Epi LP Custom (the Ace Frehley Budokan model) and it only just occured to me that with three pickups, that middle one might get in the way when I'm picking.

Thing is, I REALLY REALLY want this guitar...is there any way around it? I was thinking I could lower the pickup so it's less in the way, or even remove it all together? But I'm not very technical, so I'm unsure if this will cause problems or anything.

This is the guitar: http://www.epiphone.com/News/Features/News/2012/Ace-Frehley-and-the-Budokan-Les-Paul.aspx

Any of you guys have any experience with this kind of thing? Thanks!
Lowering the pickup will reduce its output and also make its tone clearer. Considering the guitar already has a high output bridge pickup and a thick-sounding neck pickup, it actually does make sense to lower the middle pickup for the change in tone if nothing else; there's not much point having another high output, thick-sounding pickup. You might as well get something clearer in there, add some variety.

The main problem I have with third pickups on Les Pauls is simply that it tends to limit your tone options, since the LP controls were only designed for two pickups and adding more means you have to either take away certain combinations or one pickup is always on or certain pickups won't have certain controls or... you get the idea. Ace himself actually only used the bridge pickup. My advice would be to get the guitar, lower the middle pickup a little bit and see how you like it. If you find yourself mostly just wanting to use the neck and bridge pickups, you can always rewire it like Ace did and leave the middle pickup not wired to anything.
Yes, I know everything. No, I can't play worth a damn.
A child is trafficked and sold for sex slavery every 30 seconds. Support Love146.
I can't see how a pickup can ever get in the way when picking - the pick shouldn't be sticking that far through the strings.