I've noticed that my preamp tubes have little metal covers over them, and I was wondering if there's a reason for that. I've seen plenty of amps that don't have covers on their preamp tubes and some that do have covers. What are the point of them?
I'm no expert, but from what I've heard they are to help reject RF interference and that sort of thing. Some amps have them only on the V1 tube, which would seem to make sense by that logic.
Quote by Charley2715
I'm no expert, but from what I've heard they are to help reject RF interference and that sort of thing. Some amps have them only on the V1 tube, which would seem to make sense by that logic.

That does make sense, and was what I thought they would be for. I read an argument on another forum about them affecting tone, though, and now I'm wondering if it's true or if they're full of crystal letuce.
hey dude!

i've taken them off of every amp i've owned and never had any problems. i like to be able to see my tubes and visually inspect them. if a tube lights up really bright that is a bad sign.

i say, leave them off unless you are having interference problems.
A lot of combos have them, I always assumed they were to keep the tube from working itself loose since the tube are hanging upside down rather close to a pulsing speaker. Haven't heard the rf thing before but it makes sense.
Endorsed by Dean Guitars 07-10
2003 Gibson Flying V w/ Moon Inlay
2006 Fender All-American Partscaster
SVK ELP-C500 Custom

1964 Fender Vibro Champ
1989 Peavey VTM60

[thread="1166208"]Gibsons Historic Designs[/thread]
The ones you see on preamp tubes are faraday sheilds to cut out inductive noise. That's why you see them on the tubes operating with the lowest signal levels - ie V1.