Hey Everyone,

So I've been an off and on guitar player for about 8-9 years now. My skill level is really limited because I have been so off and on with playing and such. I've had 2 teachers in the past, both with different styles of teaching guitar. I know know basic chords, limited music theory (like keys, maj/minor scales, intervals). I have a hard time playing fast songs as my picking dexterity kinda sucks and isn't that developed. I love music and want to actually be serious about becoming a better musician and enjoy music at the same time. But I have no idea where to start. I don't even know how really evaluate where I'm at because I'm not a complete noob to the guitar or music in general but I'm also don't have the abilities of someone who first picked up a guitar 8 years ago. At all. Not even close..

I'm in college and don't have the money for a teacher. I'm hoping that I can reteach myself a solid foundation and learn from you guys how to progress from there.

So where would you guys suggest I begin? How do I practice? WHAT do I practice? How do I know where I should even start? How I do I set reasonable goals because I don't want to flake out like I have done in the past.

Thanks,

Nick
Nick,

I can relate to your situation. I started out young using an acoustic guitar when I was less than 10 years old (7-9 yrs old approx), had a teacher yet my flaming interest was not there so I decided to stop. I continued when I was in my high school days. Maybe I was more or less 15 years old when I started picking up a guitar again and from that moment on, it did not stop. Been to a lot of bands playing Rock, Punk, Ska, Emo, Nu Metal through a decade. Now, I'm 25 years of age, having 12 guitars at home and having an awesome Metallica Tribute band for almost a year. But still I'm trying to study riffs from Melodic Death Metal bands.