Why hasn't the link been fixed yet? Side notes: How long should you have been taking lessons before you try playing slayer, maiden, or metallica? Furthermore, what should I do to increase my overall speed?
Just practice slow and build up speed.
When you play with suitable speed, then you can learn songs you want to learn. Alternatively combine the two and practice the songs slower than they are and build up to full speed.
Quote by metaldood91
Hi. Can someone tell me which guitars are real 24 fret guitars and which are just 22 fret guitars with 2 extra frets added on?

http://www.youtube.com/user/Joeseffel

Quote by smcstoronto1234

So very true...
1.However long you want; I learned lots of Angel of Death after only a few months playing. Of course, I still can't play it all but it's a work in progress. I have found that learning things like Slayer songs has increased my playing ability by a fair amount because I jumped in to playing metal the moment I started playing guitar. Metallica should be some quite easy learnings too. Also, lots of alternate picking really builds up your right arm's strength too I find. When you get more confident, I would recommend trying some Megadeth; they have some rather challenging songs and they use a lot less open E strumming than Slayer.

It's pretty obvious if you think of it, but what matters is what you can do and what you have learned- not how long you have been playing. To keep motivated I find that you really need to focus on playing what you want to play as well. Even if you can't play a whole Slayer song, you can still practice parts of it that are a bit easier.

2. If you want to increase your speed just keep pushing yourself, trying new things and using a metronome. When you hit a wall analyze what you're doing, pick out every little detail of what you could be doing more efficiently and practice that slowly. Just keep progressing and be patient with yourself; the results will come with persistant effort.
Quote by Jesus