well hi people. i made this thread first of all to share an exoerience i had when researching luthier made basses, and also to make some questions.

Well I think we all know that I am an entry level bassist, taking lessons, and all that stuff. but surfing the net i found a site of a group of luthiers (from my country, Argentina) that seemed to have some reputation, a lot of pleased buyers and their facebook comments, nice instruments photos, and a lot of stuff. thay have standard issues, and of course, you could ask for a customized guitar or bass. the site looks very nice, and these people state that they make high end stuff, but somewhat cheaper, since you don't get to pay the headstock logo, the comercialization, the shipping costs, and the customs fee. it seemed pretty decent. well, the thing is i called the place, so i could ask for my private session to test the basses, and invest in the one i liked the most. i asked to try their 3 standards (MIA fender, MM stingray, and Warwick corevette imitations) and the guy tells me (on the phone) they're very different basses... are you a beginner?
I lamely say i am, and then the guy tells me that i should buy something else, cheaper, because this are professional basses...

i said ok, and hanged. I know i am only a beginner, but i didn't like the way i was treated, i mean, my money is as worth as any other's (pro, novice, billy sheehan or whatever) , and if i can afford it, why can't i buy it, or even try them?! i think it may be early to get a bass like that, and all, but i liked the idea of having a really good bass for a nice price, supporting my countrie's industry and all... but it seems i am not good enough for that.

now, questions:
Are luthier made stuff good enough? are they worth it? because it seems luthier made instruments seem to loose quite a lot of resale value. which i don't care, as i would expect to have a bass for a lifetime, or at least personalized so i wouldn't want to sell it.