Hey guys. I'm mainly a guitarist, but I'm interested in getting a bass to mess around with. This will also be used live by my band's bassist (he only has one and we use 2 different tunings, so i might as well get one for the both of us), in a pop punk band (Drop D [guess tuning doesn't matter much]). I really like the Jazz bass shape. always thought they looked really good, but I'm no bassist. hoping you guys can help me out here.

Run-down:

4 string
$300 budget
pop punk (think The Wonder Years and Set Your Goals-ish)
(preferably) Jazz shape, but open to LOADS of suggestions

and that's pretty much it. probably gonna buy new since we do need it pretty quick for shows coming up. and that's about it, really.
Quote by pedromiles101
you're not gonna want to take a dump in a gross, off-colored, vintage toilet. you want something that is white and pearly; something that shines. something that you can put your cheeks against and say, "f*** yeah"
pop punk.

go danelectro and call your band the sex bob-oms

Im sorry.

or a serious note, try some of the squier basses out, some of them can be really nice, and you play pop punk, so you can trash the thing and not care because its not a $4000 bass.
Quote by element4433
One time I watched a dog lick his own dick for twenty minutes.

Quote by Roc8995
No.

Well, technically it could be done, but only in the same way that you could change a cat into a hamburger. It's an unpleasant process, and nobody is happy with the result.
Squier Vintage Modified Jazz or Classic Vibe Jazz (the CV is just a tad more expensive). Fits the bill perfectly, and you won't find a better Jazz in that price range.
Composite Aficionado

Spector and Markbass
Quote by CurbstompBass
The Vintage Modified Jazz is a great bass.

i concur. i own one and love it, more than my fender.